ReNEW’s shared, statewide curriculum empowers students to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degree. Students can attend the University of Wyoming exclusively, or obtain an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) at any of Wyoming’s six participating community colleges and then complete BSN coursework at UW through distance delivery.


Six core curricular concepts form ReNEW’s organizing framework are woven throughout each course.

  • Safety
  • Clinical Judgment
  • Leadership
  • Patient Centeredness
  • Professionalism
  • Health Promotion

The ReNEW curriculum includes eleven End of Program Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs). A SLO identifies the expectations of each student who successfully completes the baccalaureate curriculum.

Each program’s SLO is linked to one of the six core curricular concepts. For students who begin their program at a participating Wyoming community college, the curriculum includes eleven ADN Benchmark SLOs that identify the expectations of each ADN student who successfully completes the first five semesters of the ReNEW curriculum. Each ADN Benchmark SLO is linked to one of the six core curricular concepts.


All participating schools have the following prerequisite courses for ReNEW:

  • English 1010 – Composition
  • Math 1400 – College Algebra
  • Biology (or Life) 1010 – General Biology
  • Anatomy or A & P I (Anatomy & Physiology I)
  • Individual programs may have other prerequisites

Students should visit with an advisor at the college they plan to attend for specific information about prerequisite courses.


Students in ReNEW who started at one of the participating community colleges will complete a simple application to UW when they are ready to take courses at UW.  Each participating community college has an articulation agreement with UW that outlines 4-year program of study with the courses that will be taken at the college and UW.

Six of the seven community colleges in Wyoming and UW are participating in ReNEW. These include: Casper College (CC), Central Wyoming College (CWC), Eastern Wyoming College (EWC), Laramie County Community College (LCCC), Northwest College (NWC), and Western Wyoming Community College (WWCC).

The Northern Wyoming Community College district isn’t currently participating in the ReNEW curriculum. However, students who graduate from the Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) Registered Nurse (RN) program from Northern Wyoming Community College can choose to enroll in the RN-BSN program at UW.